CHAPTER AWARDS HISTORY

Barbershopper of the Year		Jerry McCulloch Memorial Award	
This award is given to a Tidelander for service which is above and beyond the usual service expected of members during the past year. It is not intended as a reward for discharging a single specific duty, but for continuous service in several activities. Nominated and selected by vote of the Chapter members.		This award, given in memory of those who have died while members of the Chapter, is the highest recognition which the Chapter can bestow on a member. It is given to the Tidelander who, during his entire period of Chapter membership, has devoted himself most unselfishly in rendering outstanding service to the Chapter. The award is made only to a truly outstanding member, who has regularly attended Chapter activities and who has contributed greatly both in volume and quality of services over a long period of time.	
		Nominated and selected by vote of the Chapter Board.	
1984	Roy Prichard	1997	Roy Prichard
1985	K. C. Lunden	1998	Wayne Hardin
1986	N/A	1999	Lloyd Erickson
1987	Rick Serpico	2000	Ken Pacetti
1988	Gary Clark	2001	Lowell McCulley
1989	Bill Moring	2002	Larry Fly
1990	Jim Graham	2003	Jim Graham
1991	George Councelman	2004	Richard Bain
1992	Ted Longgood	2005	K. C. Lunden
1993	Ordie Wilkinson	2006	Bob LaFon
1994	Wayne Hardin		
1995	Wayne Hardin and Jim Graham		
1996	Roy Prichard		
1997	Tracy Shirk		
1998	Jim Graham		
1999	Lowell McCulley and Roy Prichard		
2000	Keith Kauffman		
2001	Roy Prichard		
2002	Jim Galegar		
2003	Larry Fly		
2004	Rick Bowers		
2005	Rick Brower		
2006	Leon Klingensmith		

Spirit of Harmony Award		Director's Award	
This award is given to the Tidelander who during the past year best exemplified the fundamental Society membership qualities of congeniality and good character and worked hardest to encourage participation in vocal harmony by Chapter visitors and members. The awardee must reflect the spirit and ideals of O. C. Cash (Society founder) by his enthusiasm for good fellowship and good harmony and by his unselfish dedication to and obvious joy in barbershopping. Nominated and selected by the Board		This award is given to the Tidelander who has made a significant contribution to the musical program of the Chapter during the past year. The awardee's contribution need not be highly visible or of a technical musical character, but it must be related directly to the musical program. It should show the intent to make the musical program superior and enjoyable for all members. The awardee should be a dedicated Tidelander who has endeavored to improve the Chapter image in the Society and in the Houston community through musical excellence. Any Tidelander who has been a Chapter member for more than one year shall be eligible for the award. Nominated and selected by the Musical Director and the Board	
1997	Lloyd Erickson	1997	Bill McIntire
1998	Jim Graham	1998	Richard Bain
1999	Steve Coon	1999	Gary Clark
2000	Randy Fly	2000	Jim Halcarz
2001	Marshall Farley	2001	Lloyd Erickson
2002	Ron Herdman	2002	Mark Smith
2003	Rick Bowers	2003	Richard Bain
2004	John Devine	2004	Jim Halcarz
2005	Leon Klingensmith	2005	Richard Bain
2006	Marty Gay	2006	Mark Smith

New Note of the Year Award		Meritorious Service Award		
This award is given to a Tidelander who has contributed outstanding service to the Chapter in his first year of membership. All new members for the previous 18 months prior to December of the current year will be considered for this award unless the individual was the New Note winner for the previous year. Attendance, attitude, and accomplishment of duties (both volunteer and assigned) shall be considered.		This award is given to one or more Tidelanders for exceptional achievement during the past year in one or more Chapter activities, such as committee work, housekeeping duties, or other similar tasks in either the administrative or musical area. Such achievement should ordinarily be of at least one year's duration. Nominated and selected by the Board		
Nominated	Nominated and selected by the Board			
1997	Richard Richardson	1997		
1998	Roy Digges	1998	Larry Fly	
1999	Mike Wilson	1999	Bill Scott, Ron Aadson	
2000	Gary Logsdon	2000	Bob Lafon, Marlin Griffith	
2001	Jim Galegar	2001	Wayne Draper, Keith Kauffman, Pete Hasbrook, Hank Edwards, Rick Brower	
2002	Roger Boss	2002	Jim Galegar, Jim Halcarz, Marty Gay, John Watkins,Troy Poole	
2003	John McAnulty	2003	Rick Yarto, Rick Brower, Rob Smith, Todd Wilson, K. C. Lunden, Ron Herdman	
2004	George Kuebler	2004	Jim Graham, Debra Bock, K.C. Lunden, Tom Pearson	
2005	Dick Van Horne	2005	Rick Bowers, Rick Brower, Wayne Draper, Hank Edwards, Jim Halcarz, Bob LaFon, Charles Shedd.	
2006	Martin Guthrie	2006	BENCHMARK Quartet, Richard Dove	

Presidential Citations Presidential Citations are given to one or more Tidelanders for outstanding performance of a specific assigned task, ordinarily of less than a year's duration, during the past year.

2000	Carol Sparks, Karla Fenton, Bill McIntire	
	Marty Gay, John Thomason, Fred Welsh, Randy	
	Fly, Paul Cauthron, John Watkins, Brian Beck,	
2001	Jen Wang, Gary Henning, David McKinley	
	David McKinley, Lynton Ellisor, Bob LaFon, Larry	
	Fly, Rick Bowers, Todd Wilson, John Thomason,	
2002	Ed Burnett	
	David McKinley, Lynton Ellisor, Larry Fly, Hank	
2003	Edwards, Marie Edwards, Lowell McCulley	
2004	Jay Bain, Larry Fly, Lowell McCulley, Rick Yarto	
	Debra Bock, Marlin Griffith, Dick Chuska, Richard	
2005	Dove, Bob Massey	
2006	John Watkins, Troy Poole	

1

Г